Shady Grove…

Hello.

Thanks for coming. How are you feeling? Relax…

If your wondering what Tulya Tattvam means, it’s Sanskrit. An Ancient Indian language used to write down for the first time the most famous of Eastern Philosophies. From the Hindu Mahabarata and The Bhagavad Gita, to the Buddhist Bodhicaryavtara. Even the Kamma Sutra.

So Tulya Tattvam; What does that mean? Tulya means “Equal” and it’s my nickname. Tattvam means “Truth”. So the idea is, “Equal Truth”; Tulya Tatvam.

Alright, so how does this fit into my “blog”, Shady Grove? Hmm…

Well, “Shady”, let’s start with that first. I grew up in the Sunshine State of Florida, not more than a few minutes from the beach, even in California (my only other short lived birth residence). So I’ve always had a readily available supply of photons from the great beautiful Sun. Lots of it, except for the occasional cloud of course. Too much maybe?

I mean some argue, much as myself, the whole purpose of life is to bring more light into the world. Even the Baal Shem Tov said, “The Tzaddik sees the world as God sees the world: a creation of light.” Reb Moshe had so many beams of sunlight bursting from his face after he spoke to God its said he wore a mask the rest of his life. They say you can’t cut a tzaddik’s beard because if you do light sparks out. Lot’s o’ light from the beginning, and always has been.

So “Shady”. Yea, we’re closer. I have an odd gravitational pull with regards to my feelings towards “shade”. Whether its fog, a hazy day, or even the shade of a tree. Maybe its the cultural evolution of growing up around all this light. To say, the grass is always greener on the other side? But lets not think so much of foggy days and rain, but back towards the tree shade. There we’re still able to be surrounded by light, we can see it all, but we can kinda hide out for a second. Kind of recollect ourselves and if nothing else, just enjoy looking at it all here from our shady harbour.

So now there’s that “Grove” part. I think that’s a little easier to explain. Let’s try.

One of my favorite places has always been within the trees. My house, as far back as I can remember it, was always surrounded by trees, branches, leaves, and sunny shade. I pretty much evolved as a monkey because I would say I lived in trees from 2nd to 6th grade. Day and night. An explanation? I was a boy. First trying to reach for the stars, literally at night, clouds during the day. Then I figured 20 feet off the ground was at least that much closer to Heaven.

Rebbe Nachman said, “It is a great mitzvah to be happy always.” He also said that you should speak directly to God, in your own language, whatever it may be, everyday. God, and You; talking. Praying, dancing, singing, crying, laughing, staring, whatever; but to be with God everyday. Well, thankfully for me, that makes me happy too. Rebbe Nachman would also do something else, along with many other Tzaddikim, they would go to talk to God everyday of course, where? In the forest; in their own little grove. “This”, God-willing, is my “Grove”.

My intention is to come here, as if my grove, to speak with God, to speak with myself, and of course, with you. Things about truth, about experiences, and about knowledge. Here I’ll try to put together my collection of nick-nacks I pick up along my travels. I’ll try to put as much light into the world as I can, God-willing. I invite you to join my most introverted and existential, philosophical ponderings into the Universe with God, as if you were standing here next to me, screaming into the heavens out loud, talking directly to God, through the branches of the trees, here in my grove.

Come on out. It’s about an hour from were you live. Out near the backwoods of the old growth forest. Near the mouth of the mountain range that covers the rest of the area. Completely surrounded. Go into the thicket for a while, listen…When you here absolute silence, your close. Look for light coming through the little opening between some of the bigger trees. That little circle of brush, cleared out among the rest. That’s my nook, my place, my grove. It’s were I go everyday to be with God. Were I search for Truth, the light. Were I am truly happy. If you come visit me, and your welcome to anytime, I’d be happy to share it with you. Equal Truth; Tulya Tattvam.

To pursue knowledge, truth
and God-willing;
understanding.

Best Wishes,
Taylor